Article suggestions
  1. Home
  2. Registration
  3. Can I register for CyberStart Canada if I already have a CyberStart account, or do I need to create a new one?

Can I register for CyberStart Canada if I already have a CyberStart account, or do I need to create a new one?

You don't need to delete your free CyberStart account to register for CyberStart Canada.
Updated on April 25, 2022

The latest version of CyberStart is designed so that you can use the same account login for all of your CyberStart activities, whether you sign up for a free account, join a program such as CyberStart Canada to get a free license upgrade, or buy a retail license.

When you register for a free program such as CyberStart Canada, our registration app checks the CyberStart database to see if an account already exists that uses your verified email address.

  • If you already have a CyberStart account, then the CSC registration process simply applies a free full license upgrade to your existing account, meaning you can keep the same login details and any progress you have made in Intern base.
  • If you don't already have a CyberStart account, the registration app will auto-create one for you after you verify your program registration, and you will receive an email prompting you to set a password and log in.

In prior programs that used the old version of CyberStart, sometimes users needed to create a new account with a different email address to join a new program, so some users this year have thought that they may need to delete their free CyberStart account in order to register for a program like CyberStart Canada.

This is no longer the case! In fact, if you do delete your free CyberStart account in the new version and then attempt to register for a program like CyberStart Canada immediately afterwards, you may run into a problem (but don't worry if you have - we can sort this for you manually if you email us).

When you choose to delete your CyberStart account, you get 30 days to change your mind and reactivate it before it gets wiped from the system completely. During that 30-day period, you/we are unable to make any changes to your account (including applying a license) unless you reactivate, but you are also unable to create a new account using the same email address until the 30-day period is over. This means that if you mark your account for deletion, then try to register for CSC within 30 days, your free license can't be applied anywhere.

If you do find yourself in this situation, please reactivate your CyberStart account, then email us on support@cyberstartcanada.com and we can make some manual changes that will mean that the license can be applied retrospectively. At the moment, you will be unable to fix this yourself without our help.

Thank you for leaving a rating!
Did you find this article helpful?
0 out of 0 people found this article helpful so far
Can't find what you're looking for? Get in touch
How can we help?
Send your question below and we'll get back to you as soon as possible.
Cancel
An error occurred and your email was not sent. Please try again
×
Thanks for your message!
We really appreciate your feedback and will get back to you as soon as possible.
×